Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
217 user(s) are online (137 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 214

jgrohn, Jim in Boone, John Iaccino, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

what is this 52 worth?
Just popping in
Just popping in

highway 89revisited
See User information
found this car today and was told it is for sale for 3000.00.
engine looks very good. needs inteior. has spare grill and fender skirts. new white walls.
I'm new to packards and wonder if it is worth what they want for it before I get too excited. Forgot to mention it has a 3 speed transmision (3 on the tree).

Attach file:

jpg  (46.30 KB)
1458_49e7ece622c67.jpg 640X480 px

Posted on: 2009/4/16 21:49
 Top  Print   

Re: what is this 52 worth?
Webmaster
Webmaster

BigKev
See User information
Two big questions for me would be:

What is the body/rust condition. Rocker rust, floor boards, wheel wells trunk? Surface rust is not a big thing, but rust holes, or thin spot would be.

Does it run? Brakes? Transmission? etc

For $3,000 you really want something that is driveable (or close to it), and has somewhat solid body (excluding paint). These are great cars, but the 51-54s have only a modest resale value when restored (Caribbeans, convertibles, and certain Seniors excluded). So you want to get as much car as you can for the money.

If the body has no major rust through, and the mechanicals are in decent shape, then I would think $3,000 would be a fair price.

But thats just my opinion owning and working on a '54.

Posted on: 2009/4/16 23:19
-BigKev