Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
207 user(s) are online (125 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 206

Mr.D, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

1955 Clipper Custom Touring 4dr; Stuck in reverse??
Just popping in
Just popping in

Deaty
See User information
Hi all! I'm new to Packards, being an Aircooled VW/Classic Mopar man almost my entire life.

I recently picked up a '55 Clipper Custom with a 352 and a two speed ultramatic. The shifter feels fairly loose, but the linkage is confirmed to be moving not only from the column, but also on the transmission.

However, even after starting, or parked with the engine off, and no matter the position of the shifter, the car will not come out of reverse.

This car is parked on solid, flat, level ground; yet it refuses to come out of reverse. I have tried moving the linkage on the side of the transmission in every conceivable direction to no avail. It is full of fluid, and I cannot for the life of me figure out what is wrong unless it is something internal.

Thanks in advance!

Posted on: 2023/8/9 18:50
 Top  Print   

Re: 1955 Clipper Custom Touring 4dr; Stuck in reverse??
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
There is a chance it is internal. A lever is held by a setscrew to the shaft rotated by the lever on the outside. The inside lever is made of potmetal and the threads for the setscrew are known to strip letting the screw loosen or fall out completely. Once the screw is loose or out, the lever is free to rotate on the shaft and cannot move the selector valve.