Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
151 user(s) are online (68 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 4
Guests: 147

BigKev, moodydavid16, DM37, HH56, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

1954 Packard distributor question
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

hotrodslp
See User information
Hello. I am the proud new owner of a 1954 Packard clipper deluxe 327. I am new to this engine. It fires up and runs but it's very choppy. And it has no power when accelerating. When I shift it into gear the idle becomes very choppy and shakes the whole car.....
I noticed that the distributor turns a little when the engine revs up. Is this normal? Any info or things to check on or look at.

The car been converted to 12 volt already and was running well before it sat. I has sat for a few years with little run time. I have had the car for a week and have only driven it a few miles.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Posted on: 2012/6/17 14:17
 Top  Print   

Re: 1954 Packard distributor question
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Ozstatman
See User information
G'day hotrodslp,
Congratulations on your Packard purchase and to PackardInfo. I'll leave your questions to the more experienced and knowledgeable here to answer, instead, I have a request of you! Could you please include your '54 Clipper Deluxe in the Packard Owner's Registry here on PackardInfo?

Posted on: 2012/6/17 14:51
Mal
/o[]o\
====

Bowral, Southern Highlands of NSW, Australia
"Out of chaos comes order" - Nietzsche.

1938 Eight Touring Sedan - SOLD

1941 One-Twenty Club Coupe - SOLD