Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
247 user(s) are online (129 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 246

Don Shields, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

New to forum with a 1953 288 engine project
Just popping in
Just popping in

tractormike
See User information
First off I want to thank you guys for the info I was able to find here on my latest project, a 1953 288 engine and three speed manual tranny I found. I have been a mechanic all my life and have mainly worked on farm equipment and rebuilding tools and shop equipment.
I am always looking for new projects and came upon a Packard engine and tranny that has been sitting for a while. I am the third owner of the engine as it sits out of the car. I bought it in the condition you see in the pictures, stuck and some what taken apart. I have the cylinders soaking in marvel mystery oil right now and will wait and see the results.
What I have been able to find out so far from this site is that it is a 1953 288 engine. The number on the block is L214000. It has 5 plugs on the right side of the engine so I am assuming it's a 5 main bearing engine.
The head has Packard and Thunderbolt cast into it and just 288 with no other letters after it.
I also have the clutch, bell housing and a three speed manual tranny that came with it.
My plans are to get it broke loose and running for now. I might use it as the start of a rat rod project.
Here are some pictures of what I am starting with in the condition I found it in.

Attach file:

jpg  (54.79 KB)
72236_543293267e9b4.jpg 640X480 px

jpg  (57.75 KB)