Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
67 user(s) are online (47 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 65

Ross, DavidM, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

connecting rod applications
Just popping in
Just popping in

babbitt
See User information
I'm new to the Packard Nation and having trouble with identifying engine application by the connecting rods that I have. The numbers are as follows:
1. 219686 - 9 1 A
2. 221639 - 4 D
3. 186646
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Posted on: 2010/3/5 9:15
 Top  Print   

Re: connecting rod applications
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
The #s found on connecting rods are typically forging numbers and not part numbers; forging numbers are not listed in the parts books and I don't know of a cross-reference for them so I think identifying them will prove difficult. I've got some stray rods in the parts bin and will post again here if I find any matches.

If we assume for the moment that forging numbers, like casting numbers, are in close numeric proximity to their final parts numbers, your rods would seem to date to about 1936 and earlier. And don't forget for the senior eights, rods 1,3,5 &7 were different that 2,4,6 and 8 in most (all?) of those motors.

PS - are the rod caps finned or plain? Poured bearings or machined for shells? Center-to-center length? Main journal diameter? Center to center on the 320 engines is about 10-15/16, measured crudely.

Posted on: 2010/3/5 9:38
 Top  Print   

Webmaster
Webmaster

BigKev
See User information