Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
206 user(s) are online (141 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 205

humanpotatohybrid, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

What is this Ball Joint from tranny on '39 110 and why is it disconnected?
Just popping in
Just popping in

whose2know
See User information
Hello,
First post here. One of many future ones I suppose.

I bought a '39 six last fall and have enjoyed driving it with the kids. In the process of changing the oil, I noticed a ball joint that seems to be disconnected. I'm a bit of a novice here, so please don't flame my ignorance. I can move the alternator, change fluids and filters, put a grease gun on a nipple, and things of that sort.

Can anyone answer what the ball joint is for...why it might be disconnected from the socket below, and what to do to fix it? Also, what danger it poses driving without it attached? This is the first time that I've been underneath the car, so I don't know how long it has been driven with it disconnected.

See pic below:

Attach file:

jpg  (65.47 KB)
1775_4bc67d155e6c4.jpg 448X336 px

jpg  (56.48 KB)
1775_4bc67d2440021.jpg 373X336 px

Posted on: 2010/4/14 21:43
 Top  Print   

Re: What is this Ball Joint from tranny on '39 110 and why is it disconnected?
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information